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a penalty of $1,000 plus the amount of the first sustaining payment within 
30 days of the original due date of the payment.  

2:32-2.20 Entry fees 
(a) Entry fees will be added to the basic purse in Standardbred 

Development Fund and Premier series races. Entry fees will be: 
Premier Division Standardbred Development Fund 

Division 
2 year olds. . . $500.00 2 year olds. . . $200.00 
3 year olds. . . $500.00 3 year olds. . . $200.00 
  

(b) Entry fees for Premier Finals will be $1,500.  
(c) Entry fees for all Standardbred Development Fund finals will be 

$500.00. 
(d) The Sire Stakes Board of Trustees may reduce entry fees by 

majority vote in the interest of the Sire Stakes Program. 

2:32-2.22 Qualifying standards 
All starters in the New Jersey Sire Stakes Premier Division and the 

New Jersey Sires Stakes Standardbred Development Fund Division must 
meet all track qualifying standards at the track where the race is being 
contested and be eligible at time of entry. 

2:32-2.27 Final races 
(a) There will be a two- and three-year old “Final” race in each Premier 

Division at the pari-mutuel raceways as scheduled by the New Jersey Sire 
Stakes Board of Trustees. There will be a Standardbred Development 
Fund Division series “Final” race in each Division for two-and three-year-
olds. 

(b) (No change.) 
(c) Each Premier Final will have a $1,500 entry fee at The 

Meadowlands and is open to the highest New Jersey Sire Stakes point 
winners in the series that are declared in and can be drawn to a post 
position in the first tier. Each Standardbred Development Fund Final will 
have a $500.00 entry fee and is open to the highest New Jersey Sire Stakes 
Standardbred Development Fund point earners that are declared in and 
can be drawn to post in the first tier. Trailers are not permitted to start in 
any New Jersey Sire Stakes Finals. The entry fee is subject to reduction 
by the Sire Stakes Board of Trustees in the interest of the Sire Stakes 
Program. 

(d) All horses competing in both the Premier and Standardbred 
Development Fund Finals at all tracks will be determined on a point basis. 
A horse must start and finish a heat in order to earn points. The point value 
will be awarded as follows: 

1.-9. (No change.) 
(e)-(i) (No change.) 
(j) Total points accumulated towards Final Race eligibility in the 

Premier Division shall include only Premier Division points. Only 
Standardbred Development Division race points count toward the 
Standardbred Development Final eligibility. 

2:32-2.28 Separate Standardbred Development Fund Division 
A separate New Jersey Sire Stakes Standardbred Development Fund 

Division with a separate payment schedule may be in force.  
__________ 

(a) 
DIVISION OF MARKETING AND DEVELOPMENT 
New Jersey Standardbred Development Fund 

Program 
Adopted New Rules: N.J.A.C. 2:32A 
Proposed: May 16, 2022, at 54 N.J.R. 806(a). 
Adopted: July 26, 2022, by the New Jersey Sire Stakes Board of 

Trustees, Michael Gulotta, Chair. 
Filed: August 11, 2022, as R.2022 d.110, without change. 
Authority: N.J.S.A. 5:5-91 and 5:5-91.1. 
Effective Date: September 6, 2022. 
Expiration Date: September 6, 2029. 

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response: 
The Department of Agriculture (Department) received comments from 

a Jean Public in response to the notice of the proposed rulemaking 
concerning N.J.A.C. 2:32A. 

COMMENT: Jean Public states that she opposes the continuation of 
the Standardbred Development Fund Program (Program) because she 
contends that the Program encourages “horse abuse.” She contends that 
the Program has no value at all to the people of New Jersey or to the horses 
because, according to her, “the whole business is full of drugs and horses 
dying on the racetracks.” She states that the proposed rules are neither 
reasonable nor proper. 

RESPONSE: The Department and the Sire Stakes Board of Trustees 
do not agree with the views expressed by Jean Public. The Standardbred 
Development Fund Program provides the social and economic benefits to 
the State and the people of New Jersey that were discussed in the 
rulemaking notice of proposal. The Program is established by statute, and 
it is run in a humane manner. 

Federal Standards Statement 
Executive Order No. 27 (1994) and P.L. 1995, c. 65, require State 

agencies that adopt, readopt, or amend State rules that exceed any Federal 
standards or requirements to include in the rulemaking document a 
comparison with Federal law. A Federal standards analysis is not required 
because the regulation of the Standardbred Development Fund Program 
is dictated by the N.J.S.A. 5:5-91 and 5:5-91.1 and is not subject to any 
Federal requirements or standards. 

Full text of the expired rules adopted herein as new rules can be found 
in the New Jersey Administrative Code at N.J.A.C. 2:32A. 

Full text of the adopted amendments follows: 

SUBCHAPTER 1. STANDARDBRED DEVELOPMENT FUND 
PROGRAM 

2:32A-1.1 General provisions 
The Sire Stakes Program Board of Trustees, on behalf of the 

Standardbred Development Fund Program, hereby adopts and 
incorporates by reference, as amended and supplemented, the 2021 U.S. 
Trotting Rule Book. Copies of the most current regulations may be 
procured online at https://www.ustrotting.com/rulebook/ and are available 
for inspection by contacting the Division of Marketing and Development 
at the New Jersey Department of Agriculture, 200 Riverview Plaza, 
Trenton, New Jersey. The Division’s contact information can be found at: 
https://www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/about/contacts.html. 

SUBCHAPTER 2. NEW JERSEY STANDARDBRED 
DEVELOPMENT FUND CONDITIONS 

2:32A-2.2 Qualifying standards 
(a) In order to be eligible for nomination to the New Jersey 

Standardbred Development Fund Program, a foal must be the product of 
the mating of: 

1. A Standardbred mare with a resident New Jersey Sire Stakes stallion 
meeting the requirements at N.J.A.C. 2:32-2.3. Said mares do not need to 
be registered with the New Jersey Standardbred Development Fund 
Program, nor does a registration fee need to be paid for said mares; or 

2. A Standardbred mare with any Standardbred stallion that is 
registered with the United States Trotting Association or such other 
generally recognized Standardbred breed provided the mare resides in the 
State of New Jersey for a period of at least 150 days including the date of 
foaling. Said mare must be registered with the New Jersey Standardbred 
Development Fund Program by December 31 of the year of foaling in 
order for the offspring to be eligible to the Standardbred Development 
Fund Program. The registration form must be accompanied by a payment 
of $100.00. 

2:32A-2.5 Yearling nominations 
(a) All yearlings to be nominated to the Standardbred Development 

Fund Program must be registered with the United States Trotting 
Association or any Standardbred registry recognized by the United States 
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Trotting Association and must hold a certificate of registration dated on 
or before the time of nomination. 

1.-4. (No change.) 
5. Supplemental nominations may be made to the New Jersey 

Standardbred Development Fund. Parties delinquent in paying on or 
before the May 15 yearling nomination fee date are given until September 
15 of the yearling year to fulfill the aforementioned conditions of 
nomination and pay the nomination fee along with an additional late fee 
of $500.00. For nominations received after September 15, but on or before 
February 15 of the two-year-old year, the cost will be $700.00 in addition 
to the original nomination fee. 

2:32A-2.6 Sustaining fees 
The sustaining fee schedule to the Standardbred Development Fund 

Program will be as follows: 
 

Age First Sustaining Fee Second Sustaining Fee 

Two and three $100.00 (February 15) $150.00 (April 15) 
   

 
The Board of Trustees of the New Jersey Sire Stakes Program may, at 

any time, in its sole discretion, reduce the amount of these fees as 
conditions warrant. 

2:32A-2.8 Eligibility 
(a) (No change.) 
(b) A two-year-old’s owner who makes the nomination payment but 

fails to make the first sustaining payment may regain his or her horse’s 
eligibility for its two-year-old and three-year-old seasons by payment of 
a penalty of $1,000 plus the amount of the first sustaining payment within 
30 days of the original due date of the payment.  

2:32A-2.15 Entry fees 
(a) Entry fees will be: 
1. Two-year-olds: $200.00; and 
2. Three-year-olds: $200.00. 
(b) Entry fees for Standardbred Development Fund Finals will be 

$500.00. Finals fee is waived if entry fees are paid for the first and second 
legs. 

(c) (No change.) 

2:32A-2.21 Final races 
(a) There will be a two- and three-year-old “Final” race in each 

Standardbred Development Fund division at a licensed facility approved 
by the New Jersey Racing Commission, as scheduled by the New Jersey 
Sire Stakes Board of Trustees. 

(b) (No change.) 
(c) Each Standardbred Development Fund Final will have a $500.00 

entry fee, subject to waiver consistent with N.J.A.C. 2:32A-2.15, and is 
open to the highest New Jersey Standardbred Development Fund point 
winners in the series that are declared in and can be drawn to a post 
position in the first tier. Trailers are not permitted to start in any New 
Jersey Standardbred Development Fund Finals. 

(d) (No change.) 
(e) In the event of less than five starters, the points shall be awarded in 

the same fashion as the purse breakdown with less than five starters at (d) 
above. 

(f)-(i) (No change.) 

2:32A-2.29 Payments, correspondence, and inquiries 
(a) (No change.) 
(b) All nominating and sustaining payments, correspondence, and 

inquiries shall be directed to: 
New Jersey Sire Stakes 
PO Box 330 
Trenton, NJ 08625. 
Inquiries may also be directed to (609) 913-6514. 

__________ 

(a) 
DIVISION OF MARKETING AND DEVELOPMENT 
Producers 
Adopted New Rules: N.J.A.C. 2:50 
Proposed: May 2, 2022, at 54 N.J.R. 755(a). 
Adopted: July 27, 2022, by the State Board of Agriculture and 

Douglas H. Fisher, Secretary, Department of Agriculture. 
Filed: July 28, 2022, as R.2022 d.105, without change. 
Authority: N.J.S.A. 4:1-11.1, 4:1-25, and 4:12A-1 et seq., 

specifically 4:12A-7 and 4:12A-20. 
Effective Date: September 6, 2022. 
Expiration Date: September 6, 2029. 
Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response: 

No comments were received. 
Federal Standards Analysis 

Executive Order No. 27 (1994) and P.L. 1995, c. 65 require State 
agencies that adopt, readopt, or amend State rules that exceed any Federal 
standards or requirements to include in the rulemaking document a 
comparison with Federal law. Because the adopted new rules increase the 
minimum price payable to the dairy producer above the price established 
by the Federal Milk Marketing Order in effect in New Jersey, the adopted 
new rules might be considered to exceed the Federal standards. 

The Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 (AMAA), 7 
U.S.C. §§ 601 et seq., authorizes the Unites States Secretary of 
Agriculture to issue Federal milk market orders based on geographic 
locations, which establish minimum uniform producer prices for milk, 7 
U.S.C. § 608c(1) and (5). New Jersey is subject to the Northeast Milk 
Marketing Order, which sets a Class I milk price each month, as well as a 
statistical blend price which is the minimum amount of payment to 
producers for three and a half percent butterfat milk. With a classified 
pricing system, such as that used in the Federal Milk Marketing Order, 
processors pay different prices for milk in each category of use, all of 
which is collected in a central location, “the pool,” by the Federal Market 
Administrator’s Office. Producers are paid a weighted average, or 
“blend,” price for all uses of milk in a particular order or market. 
Processors pay into or draw out of the pool on the basis of their utilization 
of milk relative to market average utilization. Producers participating in 
the pool receive identical uniform blend prices, with adjustments for 
butterfat content and location of the plant to which the milk is delivered 
(the zone). In markets with multiple component pricing, adjustments also 
are made for protein and other solids. 

For example, the price of Class I milk for September of 2021 was 
$21.59 per hundred-weight (cwt) for the $3.15 zone price, while the New 
Jersey producers received a statistical blend price of $16.60 to $16.70 per 
cwt of raw milk produced in September 2021. Although the Federal Milk 
Marketing Order establishes the minimum price at which milk can be 
purchased from a producer, it does not prohibit states from setting a higher 
price to be paid to producers. 

The New Jersey Milk Control Law of 1941, N.J.S.A. 4:12A-1 et seq., 
independently authorizes the Director of the Department of Agriculture 
(Director) to fix the minimum prices of milk to be paid to New Jersey 
producers to ensure a sufficient quantity of fresh, pure, and wholesome 
milk to the inhabitants of the State. N.J.S.A. 4:12A-22. In so doing, the 
Director may take into consideration the amount of money necessary to 
yield a reasonable return to the producer. N.J.S.A. 4:12A-22. 

The Federal Milk Marketing Order for the Northeast does not fully 
protect New Jersey producers economically. The Northeast Federal Milk 
Marketing Order is only designed to fix the monthly blend price of milk a 
producer is due to receive from a handler, directly, or through an operating 
cooperative. In particular, the Federal Milk Marketing Order does not 
provide adequate compensation to the New Jersey producer because it 
fails to take into consideration the variation in cost of production based on 
location. New Jersey has higher than average costs of living, including 
high labor prices and high property taxes, and cost of production and 
processing is more expensive in New Jersey than elsewhere in the 
Northeast. 


